Married to a Eunuch

Newspapers are hungry for stories. And if it’s a rag brought out by one who revels in blackmailing people by publishing salacious details about people’s private lives there’s nothing like it. Who doesn’t like to read about the neighbours love affairs? If the person is a known face with a standing in the society then, more the merrier.

An editor of a suburban weekly tabloid had its fare share of scandalous story when a woman who wanted to expose her husband’s extra marital affairs approached him. Incidentally the husband was a known person in the suburb.

The lady in question had letters addressed to several girlfriends of her husband which salacious details. The editor had hit a jackpot. The letters were published, and the woman who felt ignored had her pound of flesh.

Few days later the husband approached the editor wanting to know why the latter had published the “intimate” letters without getting his side of the story.

“It was a good story I had evidence and so didn’t think fit to get your side of it,” the editor replied arrogantly.

“Fine, you did what you felt right,” said the aggrieved husband. “But will you publish my version detailing why I have been behaving so.”

“Let’s have a deal. If you prove your innocence I will discontinue the publication of my tabloid,” the editor threw a challenge.

“A gentleman’s promise,” asked the husband.

“Yes,” the editor replied.

The next issue of the tabloid came out with the aggrieved husband’s version accompanied with a note that the publication was being discontinued for harming the reputation of an innocent person

What made the editor keep his promise?

Over to the husband’s version: “I got married about 20 years. Rather I would say I was duped into marrying a eunuch. Yes, a eunuch. The woman who came to you with those letters I had written as evidence of my extra-marital affairs is a eunuch. Not a woman as you would have thought. I came to know that she is one the night I was married. That day itself I could have thrown her out, disowned her. I didn’t. I have lived with her. How would you feel when the person who the outside world thinks is your wife every morning shaves her stubble like all men do,” he said catching his breath. “I too am a man. Yes I have had affairs with several women and I’m not ashamed about it.”

Ever since then the tabloid has not hit the stands.  It’s very likely that many may not believe this to be true. But it’s.

Leave a Reply

